Chapter 96: Snowsilver Swordsman (part three)

What’s inside the book?

TL: clover

ED: eristol, xtostos


<< Previous Chapter | TOCNext Chapter >>


Beneath the red leather book, an emblem embossing the red crested ibis had also fallen.

Speaking of red crested ibis in Lindis, it is the symbol of King’s Scholar.

 

The owner is probably the black-hooded swordsman from before.

That means he is a scholarship student at the magic academy.

If that’s the case, no wonder his ability was that good.

 

But, even if he’s a scholarship student, there are about 150 people counting all grades.

If I narrow it down to the male students in junior year, there are about 40 people.

Since I don’t know his face, it will be difficult to find him.

 

“Let’s look him up at Harold’s place later.”

 

Harold has investigated all of the students on one occasion.

If I check the material, I may be able to find the owner of this book.

 

“Erica!”

 

Hearing someone call my name, I turned around.

Palug and Tirnanog were beckoning me from the back street.

Hurrying up, I regrouped with the two of them with the items I found in hand.

 

“Thank you for your hard work. I’m glad that you didn’t get hurt.”

『As expected, Erica. To take down two golems in such a short time.』

“Well, actually, I didn’t take down the second golem alone, but……”

“Oh my, is that so?”

 

They had curious expression on their faces.

Apparently, they came running after that swordsman disappeared.

 

“I’ll tell you the details later. What about the citizens?”

『Umu. Do not worry. No one died or got seriously injured. Although some of the horses have bone fractures.』

“Some humans also got bruises and sprains, but I gave them first aid and brought them to the church.”

『It seems that the city guards were investigating it as a unit. Won’t people come over here soon?』

 

Oops, that won’t do.

If the guards find us at this place, we will have trouble making up excuses.

 

“Let’s go to the street three intersections away from here. That place is outside of the evacuation route, so we should be able to pick up a horse-carriage.”

“Understood.”

 

Then we returned to the dormitory to escape from the bustling city.

 

 

The dormitory’s servant brought the meals into my room, and I shared it with the phantom beasts.

Uh, it seems that the suspicion of eating too much might occur here as well.

While eating the roasted lamb and baked potatoes, we held the regular meeting.

 

“Well then, let’s review the settled matter. First of all, I’d like to ask Palug.”

“The matter about vampires, huh?”

 

Three years ago, the contaminated altars were completely cleansed by Palug’s flame.

Since then, the vampire-related affairs have been completely hidden.

Those wary and cunning people might have noticed the angel’s activities.

 

However, since half a year ago, the vampires who were supposed to be silent began to make a movement again.

Unlike the last time when they aimed for the altars on the outer periphery of the ley lines, these attacks were concentrated on churches and monasteries in the vicinity of Lindis, which is the heart of the ley lines.

 

Moreover, it seems that they took a pretty violent and bloody approach.

Murder of the church officials. The massacre of a whole village.

This became very apparent thanks to Palug keeping an eye on their movement, and it’s extremely dangerous for ordinary people.

 

“I’m sorry, Erica. I can’t be by your side at such a time……I will get in touch and return as often as possible, so please stay alive, alright? You absolutely must survive, okay?”

“Yes, take care of yourself, Palug.”

 

Certainly it would be encouraging if Palug stays with me.

However, it is more important to reduce the number of the vampires’ victims who are, even now, still increasing.

I also don’t want my country to be in a panic due to zombies.

 

『I will be Beatrice Glaw’s guardian, huh?』

“Yes.”

『……Is this really okay, Erica?』

 

Beatrice Glaw.

A beautiful girl with braided long black hair and glasses.

She was a roommate of the main character Chloe and a side character who would become her best friend.

 

It was said that the girl game 『Liber Monstrorum』 had two integral events.

The first one was Erica Aurelia.

The second one was Beatrice Glaw.

 

Erica, in other words me, was an existence to signify the beginning of the bizarre incidents.

Erica, who was thoroughly hated due to her crime of harassment, was basically an inconsequential character for most players.

Rather, there was an impression that her tragic deaths were rightfully deserved.

 

Haha, how painful……

Well, even I felt relief when she died as I was playing it.

 

Beatrice would die at the timing when the bizarre incident got worse.

She was a plain, good-natured person who symbolized everyday life for Chloe.

And yet, she had a tragic death in a similar situation like Erica.

 

With the death of Beatrice, the incident became a pressing thing.

It was said that her death was the turning point towards the bad end route.

 

However, it can’t be said with certainty that we have already derailed from the original game.

I don’t know whether ‘routes’ and ‘bad ends’ like in the game actually exist.

To begin with, Beatrice basically has no relation to me.

 

However—

 

“Please, Tir.”

『Good grief, even when your life is in danger, you are still a good-natured person. But it can’t be helped. Since that’s just how you are.』

 

I can’t forsake her after all.

Because I know that Beatrice will come across dangerous situations.

There may even be situations where she might die before me.

She would be the same as how I would’ve been if I didn’t know anything.

We have no relation with each other, but I can’t think of it as somebody else’s problem.

 

『Leave it to me. I’ll protect her as much as you do.』

“Thank you, Tir.”

 

Tirnanog answered, knowing how I feel.

When I thanked him, he quietly drank his tea without responding.

From his difficult-to-understand expression, he seemed to be satisfied even though I was amazed.

 

“Well, let’s perform each of our tasks like this.”

『Umu, at least let me regroup with you at night.』

“I will return once every three or four days.”

 

While I am still cautious, I intend to make an effort in my schoolwork and perform my role as a student.

If possible, I also want to enjoy my school life.

Due to the fact that we had been taking measures against the death flags over the last few years, I longed for an ordinary life……

 

Furthermore, since I experienced being a working adult once, somehow nostalgic feelings for school became stronger.

I had a lot of painful memories during my school days in my previous life.

At the very least I want to live a normal and uneventful school life in this world.

 

“Now then, I think the mobilization schedule is like this.”

『Hm? Aren’t you forgetting something, Erica?』

“Didn’t you say that you wanted to examine the book you picked up at noon?”

 

Aah, that’s right.

I cleaned up the empty dish and took out the black-hooded swordsman’s lost items from my leather bag.

A book with red leather cover.

The emblem of red crested ibis.

I plan to hand them over to Harold to identify the owner after the entrance ceremony tomorrow.

 

“Right, I wonder if Harold will help me out if I ask him to investigate that person a little bit.”

 

For example, he would be easier to identify if he owns something like ex libris.

I noticed that this wouldn’t be a problem if I just read the content of the book.

 

(Ah, but I may be cursed if I open this book unskillfully.)

 

I remembered that there was a famous novel like that in my previous life.

Furthermore, she was the younger sister of the main character, not a stranger like me.

 

I started Glam Sight with a wand before opening the book.

It didn’t seem to have some spell on it in particular.

Looking at me being wary, the two phantom beasts also leaned over and sniffed the book.

 

“It doesn’t smell like it’s being possessed or anything~”

『Even if strange things appear from inside, we are here. Do not worry.』

 

I nodded, opened the book, and checked the inside cover.

In the ex libris, the words “Association of Mysterious Story Collectors” were stated.

And the title was “Mysterious Diary”.

 

I see, so this is a personal diary, huh?

It has a fancy binding, but it doesn’t seem to be a magical book.

 

When I tried to close it, a slip of paper fell apart from the page.

 

“Whoops……”

 

I caught the parchment that was about to fall off of the table.

I didn’t mean to read it, but I happened to see the words written there.

 

「Ghost of the Fallen Boy」 「Infinite Corridor」 「Man-Eating Mirror」 「Staircase to the Underworld」

 

Is this the table of contents?

There are titles that seem like ghost stories or mysterious stories.

 

As the name “Mysterious Diary” suggests, I wonder if it’s to write down the account of his personal experience about such events.

Apparently, there seems to be someone with similar hobbies like Eduard-oniisama in the academy.

 

『There is something written in the back, Erica.』

“Eh, is that so?”

 

Pointed out by Tirnanog, I turned the memo over.

Something was written there in some sort of characters I had never seen before.

 

“Since it’s not a modern character, are these ancient letters?”

“It’s not the ancient character of Karkinos. I don’t know this one.”

『It’s also different from the ancient characters of Aurelia.』

 

Tirnanog and Palug peered in.

Even though these two phantom beasts didn’t know, they could narrow it down to a certain extent.

 

“The shape of the characters somewhat resemble the characters of modern Lucanrant. It’s an ancient character of the North.”

 

Somehow this bothers me.

Certainly, I should have brought a northern linguistic dictionary.

If there is a character shape in common with the modern letters, we may be able to solve it from there somehow.

 

I decided to keep a copy of the ancient characters in my handbook just in case,

I took the writing materials and placed a lump of starsteel as a paperweight on the memo.

 

Incidentally, this paperweight also includes fine star crystals, which makes it an excellent alternative as a nearby lighting.

……or it should be, but about half of the crystals are not shining.

 

“Did the coating get scraped off or oxidized?”

 

When the paperweight was lifted, the star crystals began to emit light.

I placed it on top of the memo once again, it became dark only in a part.

 

“Huh……why is this happening?”

How interesting.

 

It shouldn’t be the effect of some spell.

Then, it means that the light disappeared due to something other than a spell.

For example, the magical power responsible for the star crystal emitting light getting blocked.

 

Thinking that far, I remembered one mineral.

It is the snowsilver ore.

If it is that mineral I saw during the day, it can shut off magical power.

If one mixes the snowsilver ore into transparent ink, this effect might also occur.

 

If I use the star crystals I can see the place where the snowsilver ore was painted, but this star crystal paperweight can only show the rough position.

How can I read it?

 

I threw another small star crystals into a mortar and crushed it.

I applied the star crystal powder I made onto the parchment with cosmetic puffs.

When it was ready, I asked the phantom beasts to shield the lights inside the room.

As I thought, blue light was emitted from the star crystal powder and the characters showed up in the dark.

 

“This time it looks like a modern character.”

『Wait at the Headless Prince’s Morgue……what?』

“Somehow, some dubious words came out, huh?”

 

Written in transparent ink was a message of dangerous and ominous nature.


Join the discord chat to discuss the novel~

https://discord.gg/egTVngn


<< Previous Chapter | TOCNext Chapter >>

30 thoughts on “Chapter 96: Snowsilver Swordsman (part three)

  1. Ahhh!
    By the way, when I searched up ibis I found a bird (and so much new information!) I hope this isn’t common knowledge but I tried to find it’s meaning… :
    The Asian Crested Ibis is an endangered species and is apparently known as the beauty or fairy bird in China.
    The Sacred Ibis is, sacred, in Egypt because it’s associated with Thoth, the god of Wisdom and Writing.
    I also found a lot of… odd… sites while searching these up…
    I wonder if that helps wih anything?

    Thank you for the chapter!

    Liked by 4 people

    1. It’s also a flower. The name is very often mixed up with Iris but they’re 2 different flowers.

      I’m betting it’s the bird though, Red Crested is rather specific.

      BTW

      “we are already out of the rails”- “we are already off the rails”.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Whoops overlooked that, by the way it’s definitely a bird cuz there was a draft illustration from the author where elric’s crest was shown as a bird.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. So is this snowsilver ore mystery scholar student Elric? Can’t be, he was quite agile and not clumsy! But maybe he’s somehow acquainted or related to Elric?

          Like

          1. Ah no, Elric is a mage but this guy is a swordsman, besides that crest is for the king’s scholars so like Elric, this person is also a king’s scholar.

            Liked by 1 person

    2. Oh my, so sacred ibis is like the owl is associated to Minerva?

      Since Lucanrant is a kin to Northern part of the earth, it’s probably take myth from there?

      Like

  2. I really love this story… I mean not much really happened in the story action wise, but its filled with promises of something more in upcoming chapters! can’t wait!
    I wonder if those 2 ever try to figure out why she is so resourceful and clever? we need a Tir and Palug pov!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. They already know about her “visions”, she told them though they don’t quite get it right. They also know about her wand resistance so they “know” why she’s so OPed.

      The problem is that you seem to think they must fall at her feet in awe of her OPness. They don’t. They’re just taking it in stride. Not to mention they’re the cause of some of her OPness.

      Be like Tir. Whatever happens, just relax, sit there and drink tea.

      Like

      1. LOL fall at her feet? where are you getting this from? first arrogance now you think I should expect them to grovel before her? where did I even say that? what kind of things do you think I am implying?

        Like

        1. I “think” you, for some strange reason or other, are desperate for others to “recognise” Erica’s “OPness”, even Erica herself even if it does not fit the story.

          1- She simply is not that kind of girl. The original Erica might be that arrogant, but remember her evaluation from the current Erica? “She deserved to die”. Current Erica simply does not THINK that way so even if you want to, she does not think of herself as OPed.

          2- She isn’t invincible just because she killed a few serpents. She may have very high firepower now but her body is still as squishy as ever. If someone walks up to her and knifes her without her being prepared, she is still going to die. I do not recall her cultivating any “body tempering arts”

          3- Her key “powers” are not her “big gun” wands, they’re
          i- Her “oracles” of her future
          ii- Her obsessive paranoid preparations
          and
          iii- Her strange ability to befriend all her calamities for now.

          She’s not really that powerful, just paranoid and obsessive in preparing.

          If you disagree, then I’ve to ask you why are you so obsessed about her getting recognition? And if you’re not, then why keep harping on it?

          Like

          1. “I “think” you, for some strange reason or other, are desperate for others to “recognise” Erica’s “OPness”, even Erica herself even if it does not fit the story.”
            I’m Desperate? lol how? by stating the obvious? what is there to “recognise”
            when she is OP, from her ideas, to how she prepares for various events, her previous world knowledge, to her already unique Rainbow level capabilities, her brother has already confirmed she is amazing, this was before she became aware of her previous world knowledge.
            Her body/mind resists the Princes power, she is not vulnerable to the same weaknesses that the Hafan children were… she is able to use/create golems to a startling degree along with her knowledge of wands/golems and their construction, as I’ve stated earlier this was confirmed to be amazing by her Brother. We have yet to confirm that her Mother had given her early schooling per Eduarts suspicions.
            There is also her Luck… for anyone else a curse of death would signal their demise, how does something so unlucky turn out to be a silver lining for anyone else but her? She is cursed by the plot but also saved by Plot armor…
            “1- She simply is not that kind of girl. The original Erica might be that arrogant, but remember her evaluation from the current Erica? “She deserved to die”. ”
            I never called Erica arrogant that is your wording not mine. The original Erica was cannon fodder in a story, a tale of fiction, so far the characters described in that story are vastly different due to a set of circumstances that arose from Erica’s involvement.
            “Current Erica simply does not THINK that way so even if you want to, she does not think of herself as OPed.”
            This is the only statement you have made that is actually relevant, the rest is assumptions made about me lol,
            While she is very humble, and dense, I do believe she has confidence in herself to act accordingly, whether she acknowledges it or not, she is brave and self sacrificing, these are simply true based on her actions, as are her demonstrations of OPness, most would not act as she has done, whether it was reckless, planned or not, she has done heroic acts worthy of an OP character.
            “2- She isn’t invincible just because she killed a few serpents. She may have very high firepower now but her body is still as squishy as ever. If someone walks up to her and knifes her without her being prepared, she is still going to die. I do not recall her cultivating any “body tempering arts””
            I never recalled saying she is a cultivator nor did I say she was invincible, those again are your words not mine. While Invincibility would be an OP ability, you don’t need it to be OP.
            As for knives, even Superman would die to a knife, if it’s made of kryptonite… so what is your point there?
            “3- Her key “powers” are not her “big gun” wands, they’re
            i- Her “oracles” of her future
            ii- Her obsessive paranoid preparations
            and
            iii- Her strange ability to befriend all her calamities for now.
            She’s not really that powerful, just paranoid and obsessive in preparing.”
            Lets take Hiroshima and Nagasaki as an example, the atomic bomb would be just a dormant item unless it is used back then it was unknown by enemy forces and not a deterrent like it is now, the real power here, were the decision makers and creators of this bomb, there strategy was to end the war sooner rather than later avoiding a predicted loss of life greater than the effects of these 2 bombs combined, but to ignore the devastating impact of those 2 bombs is silly, so to brush over her use of magic tools like they are irrelevant is questionable, they are as instrumental as the user.
            Her ability to use what is needed to create an opportunity to defeat or overcome an obstacle is part of what makes her OP, this includes wands/golems/knowledge/preparation and strategy etc., the original Erica had a very methodical mind, the way she processes information and absorbs it, when you look at a jigsaw puzzle you aim to connect pieces that fit, with Erica she aims to make the puzzle fit her pieces.
            “If you disagree, then I’ve to ask you why are you so obsessed about her getting recognition? And if you’re not, then why keep harping on it?”
            I have not been obsessive at all lol, what kind of assumption is that? I have not said she should be recognized for her actions, I have said that her actions should have warranted an investigation, this is from the time she dealt with those Lava Swords, instead they chose to focus on the wand creator Harold and that some unknown angel did the rest.
            This was fortunate for Erica, but for there to be little to no investigation, is curious, considering all the behind the scenes investigations that have been going on involving Eduart regarding the Vampires etc.

            Like

  3. Tir just silently drink his tea cause he doesn’t want to accidentally said something that trigger some weird death flags
    As expect of Erica’s friend

    Like

Leave a comment