Chapter 9: Ruins of Visitor (part three)

Oh man. In this chapter, there are cryptic messages / riddles from Eduard. After reading it through once again, I finally understand and makes some additional notes in the bottom of the chapter.

TL: clover

ED: clover, eristol


<< Previous Chapter | TOC | Next Chapter >>


“It says ‘Pass through the crescent moon gate and look for the twin half-moons’…?”

“This is … Eduard Onii-sama’s handwriting …”

“That guy!?”

Finding a trace of Eduard-Oniisama in the Ruins of Visitor made me deeply relieved.

It felt like stumbling upon Buddha in hell.

I could see Eduard-Oniisama in my mind waving at me with an archaic smile on his face, beckoning me to follow.

“It might be some hint he left for himself while he explored these ruins.”

“Then we might as well follow this.”

“I agree.”

I packed up my box of wands and other tools in my bag and stood up.

In accordance with the message, we found a doorway with a crescent moon seal drawn over its arch. We passed through it and went onward.

After walking down a dim corridor, which was perhaps thirty meters long, we came across another inscription written in Moonlight-Gallnut Ink.

Two semicircular signs were arranged side by side.

This has to be the twin half-moon.

“This is it!” Klaus exclaimed.

“Wait, something is also written on it.”

“‘When the full moon rises to the center of the sky, the path will open’…”

“Full moon? But I don’t see a circle mark anywhere…?”

“Wait. The message says ‘rises to the center’. That means—”

Once again, the grating of gears and a heavy, metallic clank—the sound of rooms shifting around resonated.

The positions of nearby rooms must have changed.

“This hint, was it written assuming that the labyrinth will move?”

“If so, then that sound means one of the rooms around us has the ‘full moon’… the room with the next hint.”

“Ah. That’s right. The sky … and at the center … Normally, when the moon is at its zenith, it points to the south1.”

“Oh no. I didn’t bring a compass with me.”

“Leave it to me. Although it is impossible to use high tier magic due to the magic consumption, I can still use cantrip of this degree.”

Klaus held a wand perpendicular to the floor and began to chant.

He was still using the ancient language of Hafan, but unlike before, it sounded like a nursery rhyme.

When he released it from his hand, the enchanted wand spun somewhat unnaturally before falling flat in the direction we just came from.

“This direction is south.”

“That was somewhat plain.”

“Because it is. It is just a simple old charm, but very convenient.”

Certainly, it was of great use.

Without this strange thing, I was seriously considering whether I should extract a magnet from the core materials or not.

Because of Klaus’ knowledge, Eduard-oniisama’s wallet was saved.

My older brother’s hint implies it isn’t only the passage of time that causes the maze to change shape. The layout shifted the moment we reached the twin moons, meaning our weight was also a condition.

Had we split up to search for Ann at the beginning, I might never have been able to rejoin Klaus.

Holding hands so that we wouldn’t get separated, we headed south through the dimly lit ruins.

Every now and then we put away our lamps to check for markings, proceeding with utmost caution.

After walking for a while, I spotted a faint, circular light in the darkness.

“A circular mark…that is the full moon!”

“As far as I can see, there is no message though?”

“Perhaps, this is the destination?”

“What was your brother trying to do by leading people to this place?”

A brand new wooden door was set up at the passage marked with the full moon.

Fortunately, the door was not locked.

While watching for signs of movement beyond the door, we slowly opened it.

“This is…”

“Boxes…is it?” Klaus muttered.

Inside the room with the full moon mark were five large storage boxes.

They were sturdy, reinforced with a metal frame, and fitted with built-in locks.

Since they were placed in ruins like these, they almost look like treasure chests.

The boxes were carved with the crest of Aurelia.

On the attached labels, there were notes in my brother’s handwriting.

The boxes must contain supplies he had set aside for exploring the labyrinth.

There were two blankets and traces of a campfire beside the chests.

“It seems like a simple base camp he set up.”

“Thoroughly prepared, huh? It certainly sounds like onii-sama’s doing.”

“There may be items that can be used.”

“If so,.”

I tried to open the boxes, but all of them were tightly locked.

It was really carefully prepared, it certainly seems to be Eduard-oniisama’s work.

“Klaus-sama, unfortunately, I didn’t bring a wand of Skeleton Key with me2…”

“Don’t worry. Somehow, I have recovered enough energy to use Unlocking magic.”

“Well then, please.”

“Leave it to me.”

Claus placed his staff over a box and started chanting a spell.

Unlike our wands which are magic devices, the staves of Eastern mages are magic amplification devices.

Although normally using a staff for this kind of magic is a bit excessive for a mage of Klaus’ caliber, he has to cast even the most elementary of spells through his staff in order to prevail over the anti-magic trap in this ruins.

Once Claus had finished his chant, a faint, red magic circle enveloped the box.

The circle slowly rotated, gradually shrinking until it was concentrated on the lock.

Click, and with that sound, the lock opened.

“Alright, it seems to have worked.”

“Let’s open it then.”

“Right.”

Klaus opened the heavy lid of the clothing box.

I held out my lamp to see the number of items within.

“A few magic scrolls, some preserved food … oh! This is a lifesaver.”

“Does it have anything that looks useful?”

“Look, it’s a magic recovery potion!”

The box contained a number of glass vials tinged with blue, lined up in an orderly fashion.

As expected of Eduard-oniisama!

“If we have these, I won’t have to depend on your wand. I will be able to do more in our search.”

“Sounds helpful.”

Huh? Alchemists shouldn’t have to worry about running out of magical energy.

Why did Eduard-oniisama keep so many potions for magical recovery?

Is it for the companion who accompanied him…?

Brother’s friend, is he not an alchemist?

Oops, now is the time to confirm the rest of the supplies.

After downing a vial of potion, Klaus began unlocking the rest of the boxes one after another.

He seems to be in a perfect condition having recovered his magical energy, like a fish back in the water.

Aah! Four boxes have been opened while I was day dreaming!

“I will open this one.”

I am going to open the last box.

GING!

The weak protective magic embroidered with magic thread on the sleeve of my brother’s clothes was blown away.

The moment I swung open the lid, a sinister, purple magic circle spread around me.

Hii! This is obviously some kind of curse.

I tried to avoid it quickly, but the circle shattered faster than I could react, its fragments coiling around me like a chain.

“…Eh!?”

“…!! This is bad! A trap!”

(Why does it—!?)

That’s right~~!

If you leave behind a baggage full of items in a dungeon, you would take measures against thieves!

This, the death flag is quite serious and dangerous!?

This is painful…!

Klaus immediately activated Glam Sight and stared fixedly at me.

He was confirming the details of the curse I was given.

His eyes shook, and blood drained from his face as he stared at me.

Not long after his eyes started trembling and the blood drained from his face. When he finally finished analyzing the curse, he miserably looked at the floor as if mourning.

Uwa! This is a reaction like a doctor who would announce an incurable disease! This can only mean—

“…Sorry, Erica. This is…the curse of death.”

Hii, as expected!

Many of Aurelia’s people have a strong pride in their craftsmanship.

So, most alchemists are strict towards thieves…

“…This is Eduard-oniisama’s work, right?”

“Yes, the creator is indeed none other than Eduard Aurelia. It was made about a month ago.”

Klaus’ facial expression was dark, he didn’t look into my eyes and his brows were furrowed.

Anyway, am I going to die here, right now!?

“Curse of Merciful Death … this magic brings about a swift, painless death after a certain amount of time.”

“After a certain amount of time…? How long exactly?”

“Estimated to be eight at latest and twelve hours at most.”

“…Heh, that is longer than I expected.”

“It is to give some moral suffering to the victim, huh? Or maybe there is an intention of dispelling it if the victim begs for forgiveness.”

You are a devil, Eduard-oniisama!

As expected of someone with the infamous dark smile among the seven capture targets, the retribution is very savage …!!

I only ever see his kind and soft side, so this is kind of refreshing.

It is too regrettable that I never got to play his scenario yet—

“…Erica, are you okay?”

“Yes, I’m okay.”

For a moment, it seems that I had been escaping reality, but I returned to see Klaus’ worried face.

“Erica, let’s return to the palace. There is still time. Your father should have the necessary catalysts and scrolls to dispel this curse. I am sure my father can—”

“No, let’s give priority to your sister for now.”

I decided to bear with it.

Even without monsters or ghosts, these Ruins of Visitor are dangerous enough.

There is no guarantee that brother and other explorers didn’t set any other deadly traps.

I can’t leave the young Ann in such a place.

Besides, generally speaking, I am accustomed to severe experiences.

I don’t want to get used to it but I have no say in that unfortunately.

I am thankful to my brother for the curse’s eight hour time-delay, rather than being instant. It is thanks to his mercy that I can spare some time.

I took out the silver pocket watch out of my coat pocket.

The current time is a little past nine.

“It’s alright. If we manage to escape by five in the morning, we can still dispel it.”

“What are you talking about! It is still a curse of death! If something happens to you,, I—”

“Ann is alone you know. I know you are not saying it but you are very worried aren’t you?”

“But…”

“Let’s stroll around the garden of the Spring Palace tomorrow, this time it will be the three of us. Promise me, Klaus-sama.”

It is rude to interrupt other people’s speech, but I had to interrupt him.

It would be rather difficult for me if he suddenly starts panicking from worrying about me.

I smiled at Klaus.

A smile is important.

Although Erica Aurelia was a villainous lady, would her smile be enough to relieve anxiety?

“You…”

“With a grace period this lenient, unless I have a terribly bad luck, I won’t die.”

“I don’t know, Erica…you look like you have a very bad luck.”

I know, right~?

While unknowingly playing Russian Roulette with the five treasure chests just a moment ago, I magnificently hit the jackpot in my only try! I truly am lucky.


1 This is a navigation using the moon location. All celestial objects – sun, stars, planets and moon – arc across the southern sky when viewed from northern latitudes. They all reach their highest point in the sky when they cross your meridian or line of longitude and this will occur when they are exactly due south of you. That’s why, Klaus deduced that the next hint is in the southern direction. (source)

2 It is another DnD reference. In DnD, the Skeleton Key is a magic item that can open any locks. So, it’s a wand to open locks. (source)

…At first I don’t understand why the next hint is in the south direction, but after reading it once again I finally understand and added that first note.


<< Previous Chapter | TOC | Next Chapter >>

25 thoughts on “Chapter 9: Ruins of Visitor (part three)

  1. Well that’s unfortunate… we’ll lucky for her she has MC plot armor! I refuse to believe her brother doesn’t have some sort of cure as long as they get back before the time interval is up

    Liked by 5 people

  2. At that time Mrs.Seno could not afford to think.
    “Why is the cloud useless as the moonlight passes through rocks?”
    When elaborating one volume she was persuading the editor by saying “Because it is magical!”
    So, uh… hmm… sorry.

    Liked by 5 people

      1. Oh, what I wanted to say is “I love you”.
        You might think “What are you saying?”

        Seno and I crowded a lot of “love” and “fun” into Erika’s story. It eventually became like a tank cake, a museum and a circus mixed with rage, and threw us into a swirl of pleasant pain every day.
        (Perhaps, I think that Seno was responsible for 97%. I’m sorry Seno. But I also helped 3%, please forgive me)
        The pleasant pain was tasted every time it became web series and paper books.

        What I thought after finding your translation was “Oh my Cath Palug. Because of us, someone suffered three times, Thank you. I love you.”

        We made a word chimaera by combining tiggy hugging Japanese and English into one word.
        (ex. Wand of castling)
        We forced the story to ride like a locomotive with railing the story, with logic being messed up.
        Because it was fun!

        So do not be afraid of mistakes.
        It is correct that you have fun. (maybe)

        It is nice that Seno’s novel is being read even across the sea. It is more than that which is being translated. Very, I’m very happy.
        To what extent is “I will die tomorrow, I am too happy”
        Anyway, I like you. You are cool. Awesome.
        I love you.
        I love all my fans.
        I love all creations.
        Good Luck. My English grades were catastrophic, but I’ll try hard and read.

        Ah, I will only tell Seno “I found a fan in the English-speaking world.”

        Liked by 8 people

        1. Oh my god! I just realized that what you mean by Seno is the author of this novel!

          Oh thank you very much for writing this book, I love it so much and I will do my best to translate it and hopefully do the series a justice. I’m sorry for translating this without you or Seno-sensei’s permission, but I’m glad that you like it!

          It is kinda hard to translate because of the mysteries and all the foreign terms, but it is also a lot of fun for me! The world building is very immersive and every characters’ personalities are lovable! Please give mine and all of the fans’ love for the author! I wish you and her good luck in writing the rest of the book! I look forward for chapter 139~

          Liked by 2 people

  3. Just who has the death flag? When Edward finds out what’s happened to his sister, I imagine him beating Klaus to a pulp 😅 right after he reverses the death curse…

    Liked by 4 people

  4. sorry but wtf wrong with the MC. the dungeon is dangerous, a girl missing, she happily explore it, no rush. Klause cause trouble, she just let it be, not even mad. avoid death flag? she not even try.

    Like

    1. I think you’re reading this the wrong way. In the first place, she didn’t ‘happily explore it’, she used her limited resources to find Klaus. And when she found him, she’s more concerned at the fact that Ann wasn’t with him. She and Klaus already did their best in solving Edward’s hint about the labyrinth, and when they found storage boxes that could potentially help them in searching for Ann of course they would take it. When Erica get the curse, it was because of her own carelessness for also not using the Glam Sight, but Klaus just blame himself. And it already said that the curse will take place in 8-12 hours, so rather than get mad or return home, she’s rather use the time to search for Ann whose location is still unknown. I don’t know why you said she didn’t even try when she and Klaus already make use of what they have.

      As for why she didn’t rush, as you read in this chapter, the labyrinth can change its rooms and passages. What use in rushing? She and Klaus need to use their brain to decide how to get around the labyrinth without getting lost, while still searching for Ann, and with their limited resources, while still being careful because they don’t know what they will face in the deeper layer of the labyrinth.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I don’t know if you’ve noticed, but in the previous chapter they said that if they didn’t find Ann in time they would go to the palace for help.And now that you really need help, they should go ask for it and not waste time looking for Ann if they know it will be difficult and complicated.If it weren’t because he is an MC they would be dead and I honestly don’t understand how in 3h he has become so fond of Ann, since in the end it is not the fault of the protagonist that Ann went to the mine but of her brother, for going there when he did they prohibited.and Ann’s fault for trying to follow her stupid brother.Todos deberian morir, pero como es una historia idealizada todo sera familiaamigable. Parece que odio la historia y en parte es verdad, pero espero que mas adelante empieze lo bueno y tenga mas sentido que ahora.

        Like

  5. Klaus doesn’t mind stabbing her when she’s already dying, huh. “You seem unlucky.” XD
    I’m not too worried though, I think Oniisama will definitely save her. I predict yandereness on his part. XD XD XD
    THANK YOU VERY MUCH FOR BEING AWESOME!

    Like

  6. This kinda reminds me of Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets where they were going to rescue Ginny. (҂⌣̀_⌣́)
    Thanks for the chapter. You’re awesome.
    (★^O^★)

    Like

  7. “Let’s stroll around the garden of Spring Palace tomorrow, this time it will be the three of us. Promise me, Klaus-sama.”
    …Really, Erica-sama? You come form the modern world and you know you’re in a game world of sorts – you should have the awareness to never utter things that can not be spoken, right? Seriously, girl, you were supposed to strike down your death flags, NOT raise them on your own.

    Liked by 2 people

      1. Who cares, Erica will die at this rate, and it really is Ann and her brother’s fault going there when the parents strictly said no.

        Like

      2. I have nothing against you, it’s just that it frustrates me how stupid they all are, since according to the key of Erica’s brother, he only needs a door and right behind they there is one, if they use it they would find something that will help them or leave a note asking for help, you know?

        Like

  8. Hi hi!
    I realize I’m writing this a year and a half after it was posted, but I just found it (and already am in love wow!). I just wanted to say thanks! And also skeleton keys are common old-fashioned keys that open old locks—it may have been a D&D reference as well, but the D&D allusion itself is a reference to those old keys.

    Like

  9. Omg I’m new to this due to the manga but I’m grateful you are the translator. This work is amazing, the amount of details and explanation, I love all of it. I can see you put in your heart and soul for this novel

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Why did she suddenly want to open the box ? Why does she not want to get out of the ruins – i mean in the last chapter they had decided that if they cannot find Ann in time they would return to get the adults. Now, that she has been cursed, isn’t this even more important ?
    Seems like MC is making strange and weird decisions for sake of plot drama.

    Like

Leave a comment