Chapter 3: Spring Palace (part three)

Holy–. This is a quite hard chapter to translate. Mostly because of the explanations. While I do understand the explanations, somehow I couldn’t quite convey it into words. Let me know if there’s something strange with the explanations and if you have better suggestion for things.

TL: clover

ED: xtostos, eristol


<< Previous Chapter | TOC | Next Chapter >>


The tour of the garden ended pleasantly.

Ann was very happy.

She looked very surprised at the modified flowers in Aurelia and enjoyed the tour very much.

After parting with Ann, I remembered to return to the gardener on my way back to bundle up the flowers Ann had picked up and have her room decorated with them.

She will be pleased when she gets to her room.

As I was about to return to my room before the dinner party began, I came across a surprising scene.

“…Ugh, not yet, another round…!!”

“Now this is troubling. Aren’t you already out of breath, Claus? I’m getting famished myself, so it’s about time we call it a day.”

It seems that Klaus and my older brother Eduard have been sparring in the courtyard of the palace.

Klaus wielded a staff favored by the eastern mages, while Eduard was armed with a wand used by the western alchemists.

Apparently, Eduard was on the winning side.

As expected of Onii-sama.

No, wait, your sparring partner is a child so go easy on him, you twenty-year-old man.

The turf of the courtyard has been hollowed out, no way~

“Oh, Erica. How were things on your end?”

Eduard came over with a look saying ‘I am saved’ when he saw me.

I saw Klaus tremble in surprise from the corner of my eye as he heard Eduard’s voice…

I guess he didn’t want anyone to see the scene of him being thoroughly defeated like that.

“Well, Ann-sama seemed very pleased. Have the two of you been sparring with each other?”

“Aah, Klaus-kun said he wanted to put my abilities to test. Well, he’s really good. I was on the defensive the entire time.”

“Oh my, is that so?”

How modest of him to say that.

But you should be careful as excessive modesty might seem sarcastic, Onii-sama.

It isn’t difficult to guess what happened. Perhaps, he nonchalantly invalidated every offensive magic Klaus sent at him?

“Tch…!”

See, the trembling Klaus has turned red, I was right.

In the first place, in this spar Klaus was in a disadvantage, if you think about it.

Basically, mages far outperform alchemists with the freedom and variation of spells they use.

However, the physical and mental burden is correspondingly high.

That is because the spells constructed by mages generate in their own body and are executed immediately.

An immature body and unstable mind will only obstruct the process.

On the other hand, magic generated by strong flux of emotions can become frighteningly powerful.

Alchemists, however, assemble spells from various materials, then concentrate and store them in various tools, like a wand for example.

Afterwards, they can reform and execute this magic as necessary.

Neither physical condition nor mental health is relevant.

The question is whether or not they have properly prepared for the situation.

As a result, between Eduard, the experienced alchemist who was sufficiently prepared, and the mage Claus, who has yet to complete his physical maturity, it would not even be a match.

By the way, I, Erika, am an inferior alchemist. An unskilled alchemist is a rarity in Aurelia family in this era.

The fatal problem is, I can neither construct spells nor concentrate and charge them into any tool.

I do have the magical energy to do so but not the constitution to use it. At best, I can only use the items created by other alchemists.

Actually, that can be done by any human, even if they aren’t alchemists…but…hahaha.

How painful.

Although my capacity for tool creation is slim, at the very least, I can make golems by physically carving sigils into metals, ceramic and the like. Right now I am under the patronage of my father and older brother, but what will happen when I enter the academy? 

Anyway, that aside.

“You two, the dinner party will start soon. Wouldn’t it be better to use the time to get ready?”

I passed on my calm brother who was unfazed and looked at Klaus.

“You heard her, Klaus-kun. We don’t have time for this, so let’s just call it a draw.”

“…Tch, I will not lose next time…”

“Oh, that’s right. I was called by my friend from the academy a while ago for an emergency. I will be returning to Lindis right after dinner.”

“What did you say…!?”

“Well, my apologies, Klaus-kun.”

This is my first time hearing about my older brother’s urgent return to Lindis Magic Academy.

I guess Eduard also used this chance to flee from Klaus.

“That’s so sudden, is it not possible to stay, at least while the Hafan’s guests are here?”

“Sorry, but this is urgent. Make friends with Klaus-kun for my part too, Erica.”

“Eh…? Alright.”

And then Eduard scurried off.

I was left behind with this disagreeable boy Claus.

This is awkward.

I glanced at Claus and caught him openly glaring at me.

As I smiled while thinking about what to do, he scowled even more.

“It is unfortunate, but my brother is a very busy person.”

“I see. So it wasn’t just because he didn’t want to deal with me.”

“Yes. He might seem elusive, but he tries his best to be sincere with things like these.”

“I see.”

He dropped his gaze, seemingly lost in thought. I decided to go back. As I turned my back, a voice called out to me from behind.

“…I apologize for being so rude before.”

He stopped scowling at me and made an awkward-looking timid expression.

“It’s fine, Klaus-sama.”

“It seems that I was weak to begin with before catching weakness from others.”

Klaus looks like a dejected puppy.

Eduard-oniisama, just what did you do…?

“You are that man’s sister. You must be a refined alchemist yourself.”

“No, I have no talent for alchemy.”

“Is it a custom for you Aurelians to humble yourselves or something?”

Aah, after Eduard-oniisama’s exaggerated humility, it does look suspicious.

“No, it’s true. Unfortunately, the magical energy needed for constructing spells gets obstructed inside my body

“…! I-Is that so? I am sorry.”

Even in Aurelia this kind of constitution is considered a bit harsh, but in Hafan this would be quite a fatal constitution

Suddenly, Klaus’ eyes that were looking at me turned sympathetic.

Now I am seriously concerned about my future.

Perhaps the Erica in the original game had gone astray due to inferiority complex regarding this area.

“But, um…don’t take this the wrong way, but there’s something I am curious about. I feel a trace of strange magic around you. If that is not your own magical energy then I wonder what the source is.”

Oops, what is it?

“Oh my, I have not noticed anything at all.”

Of course, I also have items with defense magic.

However, this is the home of Aurelia family.

There is no need to use such things in my home ground.

“That’s concerning. Sorry, can I come a little bit closer?”

“Eh? Yes, it’s alright.”

Klaus said so and came close to me.

He began to inspect me closely.

“Hmm…”

Does he understand something?

As expected of someone who would be a versatile mage in the future.

“I understand, it is coming from your chest. Are you holding some special ornaments with magical energy?”

Aah, you mean that–!

The star crystal necklace I got from my brother.

“I received this from my older brother this morning. I didn’t know it was imbued with magic though.”

I couldn’t show this to Ann, but since it is just Klaus there shouldn’t be any problem.

Having said that, I pulled out my necklace from under my dress.

Right now it is evening.

The stone overflowed with blue light as one might see from a star in response to the dim surroundings.

“…Beautiful. So this is Aurelia’s famous star crystal…”

“Onii-sama said this is a good luck charm for me to make friends.”

I thought it was just on the level of a good luck charm, but did he seriously cast a spell on it?

Klaus is staring at me as if fascinated.

“This isn’t your brother’s magic. Rather, this is a type of magic that even I don’t know of. It doesn’t belong to Hafan, it is not from Aurelia either.”

“Well, I heard that this was found in the Ruins of Visitor. It must be something ancient.”

“Ruins of Visitor, huh.”

Oh no, something went wrong.

Somehow the fact that the keyword itself came out feels like an omen for bad things to happen.

“But why didn’t Eduard-oniisama notice the magic inside this stone?”

“I also thought that it’s just my imagination since the trace of magic is very faint. But considering this is a magic that even I don’t know, this must be very rare.”

Klaus is a prodigious mage.

He probably noticed it since he perpetually has a magic called Glam Sight1 deployed, which allows him to visualize traces of magic.

Magic of Hafan’s mages activates automatically, even subconsciously.

Unfortunately, we, western alchemists can’t respond to situations beyond our calculations.

It is no wonder that Eduard-oniisama didn’t notice this.

Even so, Klaus is surprisingly ambitious, huh~?

Although he has not entered the academy yet, he has already covered both eastern and western forms of magic.

“It is amazing that you noticed, Klaus-sama.”

“Naturally. This is the result of training to my utmost every day.”

I felt that Klaus’ eyes were glittering.

Talented people are driven by their insatiable greed for their favorite field.

“I want to check out those ruins. Erica, will you show me the way?”

—This flow, I only have bad feelings about this.

Somehow my death flag seems to have been raised.

In the game, Ann was possessed by the evil spirit in the Ruins of Visitor.

If Klaus goes to the ruins instead of Ann, Klaus will be possessed by the evil spirit, and then he will curse me~~!!

“Impossible. I cannot. That is a very dangerous place.”

“Wasn’t it possible for Eduard to go there without any problem? Or, do you think I am incapable?”

Oh no, I triggered a strange sense of rivalry in him!

I guess I will hurt his pride if I say that is the truth.

What should I do?


1 I changed Gram Sight into Glam Sight. I think it makes more sense. Thank you for the suggestion, HFZ!

I’ve seen people saying that ‘why did Erica show the necklace to Klaus?’ or ‘why didn’t Erica just put away the necklace somewhere?’ or ‘she’s supposed to have memories of an adult, why is she so stupid?’. First of all, adults aren’t omniscient; we still make mistakes and we don’t know everything. Erica thought that the problem is in the OG!Erica’s attitude of provoking Ann and showing the necklace to Ann. How would she know that showing the necklace to Klaus (a boy) would result in a similar situation? Second, that necklace is from her beloved older brother as a charm to make friends. Why would she put it away?


<< Previous Chapter | TOC | Next Chapter >>

45 thoughts on “Chapter 3: Spring Palace (part three)

    1. Hmm, but the kanji is different. The Gram Sight here written with 霊視の魔眼 while the Glam Sight in Rental Magica written with 妖精眼.
      One is demonic eyes, and the other is fairy eyes. Is it really Glam Sight then? Well, it’s better than nothing, I will change it.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank you HFZ. You guessed it.
        In making the decision, we just referred to rental magica.
        At that time, we also searched for better words, but we decided to adapt it to the expression that is finally spreading in Japan.

        There was also anxiety for us. Because glam = fairy source was unknown.
        Even now, following the Japanese site “It is based on the glamr of the old Irish language which became the source of the word glamor”. But, Oxford English dictionary is linked to words meaning Greek letters via words meaning Scottish enchant.
        (Somehow I think that there are people who spread a variety of errors in the dawn of Japanese fantasy.
        Every time we face such a phenomenon, we say “Oops, we was deceived again”.

        Since we prioritize things that are easy for Japanese people to understand, we make it a rule not to mind some mistakes. I did not think there was any translation at the time, sorry.
        When you think that “I do not know the meaning of this word though I think about it”, I want this thought. “Again Seno and her assistant are fighting Japanese Jabberwock”

        As time goes by, I am worried that the deepening of the fantasy knowledge between Japan and others will grow. I will be happy if you do not forsake the Japanese even then.

        Liked by 3 people

        1. Thank you for the confirmation, Higata-san! It’s fascinating to know the sources of Seno-sensei’s inspiration. The research seems very astounding!

          Like

    2. Not necessarily. There is another series called Irregular of Magic High School, where the world gram literally refers to information about an object. MC could “read” the gram of basically anything and know all about it. Including people and spells.

      Like

  1. Wasn’t Gram the one who covered himself in dragon blood for invincibility but missed a spot?

    Would not “it’s a secret and I can’t show you” be sufficient?! Stop taking the doom out and explaining it so clearly! XD XD XD

    THANK YOU VERY MUCH FOR BEING AWESOME! ! ! ! !

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m not very familiar about that lol. I only found out that Gram is the name of Siegurd’s sword that was used to slay the dragon Fafnir. Maybe this Gram is not even referring to anything, who knows? XD

      Liked by 1 person

  2. >No, wait, your sparring partner was a child so go easy on him, you 20-years-old man.<
    Wasn't her brother 12-year-old?
    Aiyo, isn't it fine to say that he went with other people there and alone is impossible?

    Thanks for the chapter!

    Like

    1. What world? U might actually think she is doing it on purpose from the way she is acting. Atleast don’t say were the necklace came from. And she even seems to be goading the boy to go there by saying its dangerous. As if anyone listens to that

      Like

  3. “…Haah, not yet, another round…!!”
    “This in an embarrassment. Aren’t you already out of breath, Klaus?
    For a second there, my mind rolled into the gutter 😏

    Liked by 4 people

  4. Knew it!!!!!!!! This was going to end in going to the Ruins one way or another!!! Ugh.
    Side note: I just came from reading the Toro light novel, and when I read “Haah, another round”, my mind immediately went to the gutter. Sorry. 🙃

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Theres literally a ten year age gap between thw two of you so stfu and control your f**kin curiosity you stupid child

    Like

  6. This is just my opinion made from watching a couple of magic themed anime and manga but “Gram sight” might also work, like for example “Mahouka koukou no rettosei” Tatsuya’s “Gram demolition” spell which cancelles out magic sequences.

    Like

  7. I could barely use the items created by other alchemists.
    ^ but she could use her brother wands just fine? or she stated that because she doesn’t know yet?

    “No, it’s true. Unfortunately, my magical power for spells and magic is obstructed inside my body.”
    ^ i’m confused. so this means she does have magic power but unable to use it properly (alchemist/mage style)?

    Like

    1. After checking again, I wasn’t wrong in translating it. So I can only assume that she said this because she didn’t know. Since the explanation about magical power only appear in the third arc.

      Like

    2. She does not have magical power herself. She actually stated that magic power in general gets obstructed within her body (which we later learn means the external magical power that should be flowing through her if she was a regular alchemist and wanted to charge or create spells).

      As for the items created by other alchemists part: as cloveeer said, that’s what the raws state.

      Liked by 1 person

  8. OMG if this guy is DELAYED, does he have a fart on his head? the only thing he does not have to do, and he does. but if it is a very STUPID

    Like

  9. She should just tell him that even her onii-sama can’t go alone and even in group he came out injured.. such lies may save her..

    Like

  10. It is probably gram sight, now I know nothing about kanji but “Gram” probably comes from the word “Gramary” meaning magic: enchantment or “Gram’arye” meaning skill in magic.
    The word Gram has been used rather freely in “The irregular at magic high school” too so maybe it’s a Japanese thing, like how they mostly use Germany or England as context for their western fantasies, though these are all my guesses:))

    Like

    1. It was confirmed by an insider that it is actually glam sight inspired from Rental Magica so we chose to stick with that.

      Like

  11. Yeah, no to your explanation. The scene could have played out as below.
    Brother gives her the necklace, tells her about the meeting, she mentions that the necklace attracts too much attention. Brother says to hide it. Erica replies that it could accidentally slip out and instead delay’s putting it on until they leave bypassing the issue.

    Like

Leave a comment